Penalties for DUI in Pennsylvania

| Sep 21, 2020 | DUI |

Pennsylvania law establishes general, high and highest impairment categories for driving under the influence. Depending on the driver’s blood alcohol content at the time of arrest, he or she could receive elevated penalties for a DUI conviction.

Drivers facing a court date should review the potential Pennsylvania penalties for DUI.

General impairment DUI

This category covers arrests in which the driver’s BAC was between 0.08% and 0.99%. A first-time conviction can result in:

  • Up to six months probation
  • Substance use rehabilitation and driving safety school as ordered by the court
  • Up to $300 in fines

A second general impairment DUI carries a mandatory minimum of five days and up to six months and jail. The convicted driver will also receive a 12-month license suspension, and he or she must use an ignition interlock device upon reinstatement.

High impairment DUI

Pennsylvania considers high impairment as BAC from 0.10% to 0.159% at the time of the arrest. This first-time conviction can result in:

  • Up to six months in prison
  • $500 to $5,000 in fines
  • 12-month license suspension

Highest impairment DUI

This category refers to DUI with a BAC of 0.16% or higher. A first-time conviction can result in:

  • Up to six months in prison
  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • 12-month license suspension

These penalties also apply to driving under the influence of a controlled substance other than alcohol.

Drivers who refuse a breath or blood test at the scene can receive additional penalties. Most offenders will have the opportunity to pursue treatment for substance use disorder.

FindLaw Network