It is difficult to read the news these days without seeing those scary two words: "death penalty." No matter who you are, it is important to know a few things about it because the United States is one of the top five countries in the world when it comes to legal executions.
The Wyoming State Senate recently passed a bill that would bring back the firing squad for death row inmates in Wyoming. Apparently the problems with lethal injection have caused lawmakers to reconsider this mode of execution. Utah is the only other state that authorizes the firing squad for penalty cases.
If you are convicted or plead guilty in a criminal case in addition to legal fees you will be required to pay the costs of prosecution. Additionally, if you receive some alternative disposition such as ARD, you will also have costs to pay. The costs can vary around the State but in Centre County they can be as much as $2,300 on what you might think of as a relatively simple criminal matter. For example, if a person is charged with driving under the influence and is either convicted or receives an ARD (common for a first time offender), you will have to pay for such things as the fingerprinting fee, $200, crime lab user fee, $134 and even a firearm education and training fund fee of $5. Failure to pay the costs according to a schedule given to a person by the Probation Department will subject the person to contempt of court and their probation may be revoked.
According to a recent article in the Wall Street Journal nearly one in three adult Americans has a criminal record. Companies looking for new employees are forced to comply with a host of state and federal laws pertaining to who they can and cannot hire. One study cited that nearly fifty percent of people with criminal records never got a call back for a job.